Ivor Raymonde - Paradise - [VINYL]

  • Sale
  • Regular price £24.00
Tax included.


1 Halfway to Paradise - Billy Fury
2 I Only Want to Be With You - Dusty Springfield
3 He Doesn't Love Me - The Breakaways
4 He Knows How to Love Me - Helen Shapiro
5 Giving Up On Love - Sonny Childe
6 Black Is Black - Los Bravos
7 Love You Till Tuesday - David Bowie
8 Make It Easy On Yourself - The Walker Brothers
9 Mylene - Ivor Raymonde
10 Chahawki - Burr Bailey
11 Little Lonely One - Tom Jones
12 He's Sure the Boy I Love - Cindy Cole
13 Jealous Heart - Ottilie Patterson with The Ivor Raymonde Group
14 Your Hurtin' Kinda Love - Dusty Springfield
15 I Got the Feeling - Dave Berry
16 It's My Turn - Jon Gunn
17 I Love Her - Paul & Barry Ryan
18 Grotty - Ivor Raymonde and His Orchestra
19 Beautiful Friendship - Barbara Ruskin
20 Superman's Big Sister - Ian Dury and The Blockheads
21 (I'm Not Your) Stepping Stone - The Flies
22 It's the Real Thing - The Ivor Raymonde Orchestra
23 Wait By the Fire - The Majority
24 She Sold Blackpool Rock - The Honeybus
25 I Found Out Too Late - Alan David
26 My Ship Is Coming In - The Walker Brothers


Classic singles like Billy Fury's "Halfway To Paradise", Dusty Springfield's "I Only Want To Be With You" and The Walker Brothers' "Make It Easy On Yourself" would not have been hits without Ivor Raymonde. As their arranger, and in the case of "I Only Want To Be With You" songwriter too, he shaped the final recordings. He decided on the orchestration and backing vocals, chose the instruments and determined what was heard on the radio - and what record buyers bought. Paradise: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde is a long-overdue celebration of Ivor Raymonde, collecting his work as an arranger, musical director, producer, singer and songwriter. The story of a British musical great is told for the first time. Billy Fury, Dusty Springfield and The Walker Brothers are heard. So is the only vocal performance for which Ivor Raymonde received a credit on a record label. He worked with the pre-fame David Bowie and Tom Jones. He spotted the potential of Los Bravos, steering them into the charts with "Black Is Black". Near-misses and obscurities made with Brit-girls Cindy Cole and Helen Shapiro, the soulful Sonny Childe and confrontational proto-psychedelic London band The Flies are as fantastic as the hits. With these and more, Paradise: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde distils the essence of the magic of Ivor Raymonde.